The official name of UNESCO is United Nations Educational, Scientific, and Cultural Organization, abbreviated as UNESCO. Representatives of the UNESCO preparatory committee from 37 countries gathered in London, UK on November 16, 1945, and adopted the “UNESCO Charter” to establish UNESCO to contribute to world peace through international cooperation in education, science, and culture in the wake of World War II.

UNESCO’s main objective is to promote international cooperation through education, science, and culture, and to contribute to peace and sustainable development while improving universal respect for justice, law, human rights, and fundamental freedoms.

Functions of UNESCO

Laboratory of Idea - Predict future key issues and identify relevant strategies and policies

  1. Standard Setter - Establish relevant norms by clarifying major moral, normative, and intellectual issues
  2. Clearing House - Collect and distribute information and knowledge precedents, discovery and testing of innovative activities
  3. Capacity Builder in Member States - Develop human and institutional capacity of member countries
  4. Catalyst for international cooperation - Serve as a catalyst for development cooperation


UNESCO Universal Declaration on Cultural Diversity

Convention for the Safeguarding of the Intangible Cultural Heritage 2003

Convention on the Protection and Promotion of the Diversity of Cultural Expressions 2005

Convention concerning the Protection of the World Cultural and Natural Heritage 1972

See more at: